A noticeable lack of students opting for science subjects at universities is observed in various countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects on society?

In recent years, learners have been denied to choice of science subjects rather than other majors in many countries. It is due to the high level of burden of studies and increment in the cost of Universities. This essay will elicit both the reasons and effects on society in the following paragraphs. To embark on, pupils consider science as the most challenging subject as compared to other courses in school. In other words, some people believe that science requires high intellectual skills to understand. Thus, learners feel having science subjects in universities is like a burden on them. Moreover, getting admission in a scientific field is also not affordable because of the extraorbidant cost of fees. This means that, if a student comes from a poor background, he is not able to get admission in tech or scientific programs as it is not economically friendly. Therefore, looking for ways to reduce the tuition fee must be one of the major priorities of governments around the world. Furthermore, scientists think that the reduction in tech and science graduates will lead to the deceleration of technology worldwide. If this trend continues, it will result in a reduction of innovation for many years. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford University predicts that the innovation process will be slower in the upcoming decades regarded to the lack of scientists and researchers. Consequently, the reduction of learners will not only affect present generation, but also future generations. In conclusion, it is reaffirmed that pupils are not enrolling in scientific and tech courses due to the fee structure and they also think of science as an obscure subject with narrow job opportunities. Hence, the government should take some measures to cut down the fees of institutions so that everybody can afford it and opt for it.