One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, in our fast-paced world, people use private cars as a means of transportation to save their time and energy. This widespread usage of vehicles has made a significant problem called traffic congestion or traffic jam. Almost every conurbation throughout the world faces this issue. This essay will outline some practical solutions to deal with this huge problem through stricter policy and budget allocation on infrastructures. Firstly, with population growth, metropolitans extend far beyond expectations. The lack of suitable infrastructure is an obstacle in traffic management. inadequate road network and insufficient parking facilities are testament to the policy which didn’t consider these issues. Meanwhile, low quality of the transportation system is another factor residents prefer private cars which leads a heavy traffic nearly in most parts of the cities. A typical example would be the buses that are not on time and metro and tram that are not available in some neighborhoods. There are several measures that could be taken to identify the severity of this issue. Stricter policy should be taken to manage heavy traffic. These could be congestion charges or restricted access to city center during peak hours. For example, in our capital city people are not allowed to drive in city center between 7 A.M to 5 P.M with their own cars, in order to reduce traffic and pollution. Another effective way to deal with this problem is allocating more budget to expand public transportation. An effective transportation system is a proper alternative for cars. According to statistics in developed countries more people tend to use tram or buses instead of their own cars. In conclusion, stricter policy is a key factor to mitigate traffic congestion throughout the world, moreover, initiative measures should be taken to improve infrastructure which means more budget for the public transportation system.