In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays businesses tend to advertise that their products are somehow new to the market and are a new development. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind the adoption of this notion and why it is such a dangerous criterion. To begin with, one of the main reasons behind that advertisement trend is the widespread assumption that newer products are the better-quality ones. Although this is not exactly false, it is not always true, as some companies often introduce new products to the market with minimized altering to them. This can be observed clearly in the electronic market. For example, companies like Apple introduce a new version of their famous iPhone yearly; this iPhone is thought to be overpriced compared to the services it gives to its consumers. Moreover, this advertisement technique does more harm than good. To illustrate, most organizations exploit the consumers’ mindset and sell them new products advertised to be a new findings that have a lot of benefits and are made by the hands of special scientists, and in most cases, these products are just normal or slightly developed ones. In other words, associations use certain propaganda to convince the audience of the false supremacy of their goods. For instance, the food organization Nestlé deceived young mothers in lower-class countries into switching to baby formula instead of breastfeeding as if it were a healthier alternative and a symbol of nobility. This has led to an enormous number of diseases amongst newborns, such as kidney failure, and essentially led to the death of thousands of them. In conclusion, the immature, rather shallow mindset adopted by us has made businesses make use of our lack of knowledge and experience towards their manufacturers, leading to devastating results to the extent of death.