The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or countryside into the city center. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Moving permanently towards the countryside can be increasingly impact on alleviating traffic congestion and problems related to pollution. Many people believe that, living in suburbs can totally elevate such problems whereas, I strongly trust that it cannot be a reliable solution for long term. Moreover, reducing population in cities may decrease issues raised due to traffic and pollution, but relying solely on it has more disadvantages than advantages. The first and foremost, the employment opportunities are more in cities when compared to countryside. Not only professional development but also lifestyle can greatly enhance during the city stay. For instance, living in the city can encourage individuals to access numerous career development programs to choose from, so that they can balance both personal and professional life. Moreover, the flexibility of the job, in terms of career advancement and job switching is tremendously valuable to individual’s professional growth. Secondly, living in villages can be beneficial to residents, however travelling to work on daily basis from outskirts to city can be a troublesome to employees. Because, it enormously increases commute time and leaves a shorter time for personal life. For instance, having a unsatisfied personal life can significantly impacts person's productivity and performance at workplace. Therefore, staying within city can encourage people to work more efficiently and reduce mental stress. On the other hand, settling down in the countryside is definitely a healthier and pleasant option to stay. However, this cannot be the only reason to deal with pollutions such as air and traffic. Implementing additional measures to alleviate pollutants should be the primary responsibility of both individuals and the Government. For instance, carpooling, bike sharing can be used by individuals during peak office hours and imposing new policies on air quality checks by the officials. In conclusion, decreasing pollutants from the environment is not only responsibility of residents, but the Government should encourage individuals to adopt more sustainable transportation options to travel and address this issue. However, residing outside cities or closer to villages can be a disadvantage for many individuals who have to commute for long hours, which ultimately leaves a shorter time for personal life leads to stress and anxiety along with performance issues at workplace.