The environmental problems that today's world is facing are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. So governments and large organizations should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that nowadays environmental problems which the world is facing are so great that ordinary people cannot help the situation so the main actions for nature protection should be taken exclusively by governments and organisations. From my perspective, this statement is not completely true and I do not agree with it for some reasons mentioned in this essay. There is no doubt that the government is extremely influential and has an ability to legislate to protect nature. For instance, some laws and restrictions can be implemented to regulate factory production processes that might harm the environment. However, it is nearly impossible to ensure that people follow some basic rules in everyday life. The government cannot track and punish every individual that throws rubbish on the street, does not sort trash or does any other thoughtless deeds that affect the overall situation. It may seem like actions of one person are just a drop in the ocean but in reality, these little actions are taken by millions of people every day and therefore contribute to the deterioration of the environmental situation. It is a well-known fact that large organisations pursue maximising economic profit. The process of production requires a lot of resources including natural ones. Therefore, it is not profitable for companies to invest in solving environmental problems as it goes against their interests. Moreover, the activity of organisations is favourable for the government as it influences the overall economic situation in the country. Consequently, authorities also profit from using natural resources, meaning that without the effort of ordinary people this problem will not be solved completely. To conclude, I firmly believe that environment protection is a collective responsibility of people and governments, and each side’s actions and contribution cannot be denied or diminished since only by joint effort is it possible to improve the situation.