Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable that many children in the world are spending more time on their smartphones rather than doing other activities such as exercising, studying, or doing household chores. Gadgets can be addictive and make people idle and unproductive, including youngsters. This essay will explore the negative and positive effects of using cellphones for a long hours on a daily basis. On the one hand, children can be vulnerable by using gadgets every day this is because, at a very young age, they were taught by their parents how to use them or just simply by watching how members of the family are always on their phones. For instance, when a mother is busy running errands while no one is around to take care of the baby she has no choice but to let her infant be entertained by some phone videos or songs from the phones to avoid distractions while doing her work, which later on the baby will start to enjoy. As time passes, when the baby grows up, he will be used to using phones daily and practice operating independently. Moreover, this can lead to a negative effect since the child will only watch or spend more time on social media, video games, and other interesting social networking activities rather than exploring outdoor activities such as sports or even learning household chores. This is also detrimental to the overall health of the child. On the other hand, due to our digital world it is also fair enough to learn using smartphones or computers. For example, most of the schools today requires their pupils to have gadgets like cellphones and laptop as some of the activities or classes involve encoding presentations. This helps the students navigate through the advanced technology and prepare them in the future as most of the company require computer-literate employees. To sum up, while smartphones has negative effect to everyone there should be a balance in using gadgets. It is best for parents not to expose their children on phones for long hours instead spend quality time like teaching them household chores and different outdoor activities.