The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

The duration of working days has gained significant attention in recent years. This essay will discuss why prolonging weekends is a great idea, as this helps employees to recharge and spend more time with family and themselves, and how this benefits the employees and employer. On the one hand, longer weekends help employees to recharge by helping them catch up on sleep, which will later enable them to return to work feeling more energized, willing to take on their jobs responsibly, and focused. For example, performance levels decrease near the end of the week, and some individuals tend to fall asleep during working hours due to lack of energy. On the other hand, we see many people giving their all time and effort to their jobs and later regretting it because of the damage this has done to their mental health, instead of focusing on themselves and their families, which could tremendously help their overall well-being. For instance, mental health affects work performance and productivity in many ways, and a common reason for people to quit their jobs is not being able to bear the mental load that is pushed on them at work. In conclusion, the workweek should be shorter, while weekends need to be longer, to avoid overwhelming workers and affecting their social lives, which could also ruin productivity eventually.