Nowadays a lot of offices employ open space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current trend, open work spaces are more preferred rather than private rooms in office culture. Although there are certain negative sides to unclosed cabins, I am of the opinion that the benefits open work spaces brings are far more in number when compared to the drawbacks that it offers. It cannot be denied that unclosed design has certain demerits. One such drawback is the fact that many people encounter disturbances among them. Why this is considered as a disadvantage is because employees often attend meeting and calls, which will overlap and cause a disturbance to the employee beside. Another downside that a person might lose their privacy of keeping their belongings safe. To explain with an example, it could be said that worker’s personal and costly belongings are not safe since it is shared workspace. These are a few disadvantages that employees are likely to face while using shared workspace. Having said that, the advantages cannot be sidelined as they clearly overshadow the above-mentioned drawbacks. The first major advantage that the employer is undoubtedly saves the cost. To explain, construction of private cabins costs higher and also needs lots of alterations very often, predominantly saving spendings on infrastructure will offer money to employee benefits. This is more impactful than disturbances. Again, another merit of open workspace is collaborations among team members. Most often, employees need to work as a team for the company’s benefit. For example, Agile is popular and efficient team work strategy, where every employee must collaborate with each other inside shared work space every day. These are clearly the advantages that are large enough when compared to the feeble drawbacks. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate by stating that despite there being narrow drawbacks like disturbance and safety of belongings, I am thoroughly convinced that the advantages individuals enjoy in terms of having a collaborative working and cost-cutting for employer, are monumental and this thought is certainly likely to continue in the near future too.