Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays, around the world, people can see the same films, fashion, brands, advertisements, and TV channels. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The effect of globalisation is obvious towards the world’s populace as information transfer being made easy with the advent of technology. In this essay I will discuss further about the advantages and disadvantages of globalisation. With regards to business globalisation, it appears that it may expand business opportunities. Business owners nowadays can reach millions of potential consumers by advertising their products or services on the social media such as Facebook and Instagram. This eventually increase profit and create new job opportunities for the citizens. Next, the increase communication among people leads to discussion forums. People from diverse demographics are able to communicate with other individuals to exchange their ideas and experiences whereas before people rarely had the chance to do that. problems can be solved, and innovations shall increase. On the other hand, the effect of advertisement in YouTube and other social networking sites can be negative such as the rise of consumerism. Many people now buy things that they do not need mainly due to impulsive buying. Consequently, the waste generated and transportation activities that took place in relation to consumerism are causing greenhouse gas emissions to increase and further pose negative impact to the environment. Finally, culture may become less diverse because of blurring of boundaries. For instances, the Hollywood movies bring about western culture influence to other nations. This pos risk of loss of cultural identity and cultural assimilation. In conclusion, the advantages of globalisation include increase in business ventures and social interactions while the disadvantages include rise in consumerism and cultural implications. I believe the nation must balance between these two factors to reduce the negative effects and optimize the positive impact.