In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a fact that a huge number of people in remote areas in several nations are leaving their countryside for cities and this makes the population in those regions decreased continuously. This trend gives both benefits and drawbacks for human society, and I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, the thing that so many people, especially the young ones, from rural areas, move to cities will probably create a lack of labor for farming and maintaining traditional craft villages. Firstly, the young generations are the most crucial ones in the local labor force because most farming work requires strong guys to fulfill, and if most of the young laborers leave their farms, there will be more abandoned fields. For instance, there have been millions of young people leaving rural zones in VietNam in recent years, and consequently, thousands of hectares have been abandoned which makes the agricultural productivity drop significantly, and this poses a potential food security risk. Moreover, more people leaving the countryside means there will be an interruption in the labor force inheriting several traditional valuable craft works. It is evident that the number of leading experts who have valuable work skills such as sculpture craft and pottery making are decreasing rapidly and that is the reason why the quality of the products in those fields has been worse and worse. On the other hand, the fact that more people leaving their hometowns for cities benefits the development of both cities and the countryside. It is undeniable that the workforce from rural areas is making huge contributions to the development of big cities. These young people play a crucial role in developing all industries and have made big changes to nations in a positive way. For example, millions of immigrants coming from several different rural regions of VietNam to HCMC have made big contributions to the rapid development of this city and made it the crowdest and most developed city in VietNam. Furthermore, most people who leave the countryside will probably come back to their hometown in the future and contribute to the development of those places by investing in some fields that they have a lot of experience. Some researches show that nearly 50% of people who left their countryside when they were young come back and contribute to their homeland's developments in different ways such as financial investing or setting up businesses, this not only creates a lot of employment for the next generations but also enrich local budget and when those rural regions have developed strongly, the next generations will choose to stay to develop their countryside. In conclusion, although the migration of a huge number of people from rural areas to cities might harm remote regions in the short term, the benefits in the long term are much farther.