Young people spend too much money and time following fashion trends (clothing , tech.) What is the reason ? Is it a positive or negative development?

There is no denying the fact that teenagers spend a lot of money and time following fashion trends. This essay will discuss the causes and I will express my opinion. To begin with, many reasons lead teenagers to be influenced by trends. Firstly, I believe that many young people are using fashion to express themselves and to show their personality and vision, and all these things are related to their generation. This is why they all have similar styles and this is why every generation has different trends. In terms of, buying expensive clothes or bags to follow some fashion trends, this behavior appears unwise after all. It is also possible to say that young people who seem less confident than others, are more influenced by trends the others who always create their style and have a unique character. Moreover, if teenagers have a space to make their own choices then we will see more creative and independent people and they will spend their time and money to dress on their way, inspired by their own vision. In conclusion, there are many reasons for this behavior like I said, and the most effective reason is having an unclear vision of ourselves that makes us copy trends instead of creating our trends that express more about our personalities and cultures. It is also true that living in some societies, being different is not always welcome making it more difficult to not follow their trends and sometimes people get bullied because of being not trendy.