A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, social recognitions and objective possessions are more crucial values rather than values which had been recognized in the past era. Especially, among young people the new values are widely accepted. In this essay will explore the reasons for this phenomenon. The most significant factor of this is widely use of Social Networking Services. Through smartphones or computers, people can share information about their social identity or possessions easily rather than showing old values. Thus, people upload content which is relatively easy to share. Second, people are more willing to find their status not only in a close community, but also online networks. For example, while old values were shown in close relationships such as the workplace, school or family, the field of showing self-recognition has shifted to online and worldwide communities. This change causes a shift in self-identity. Third, a role model also has changed. An influencer, who is showing their daily life on a social networking services, plays an essential role, especially among young generations. Since they are working with companies, they are using the products and giving positive comments on them. If people have the same products as an influencer possesses, they could fullfill their values. In conclusion, the old values such as honour, kindness and trust are no longer valuable to modern people. The current trend of using smart devices and social networking services accelerates this phenomenon. In addition, the change of creating a community and a role model are crucial aspects of causing the current value change.