Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today's society, greater emphasis has been given by parents and schools in building good social behaviour in children. Some people argue that it should be the responsibility of the parents others think school should be the ideal place to teach them morals. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives before articulating that schools play a pivotal role in building a character. Many societal skills in children come directly from parents. Children spend most of their time at home under the guidance of parents and so they learn most of the social skills directly from them. They usually mimic how their parents behave, if parents are happy and show sympathy towards others they will develop it too. Moreover, It was observed that a family with a history of domestic violence had an adverse effect on their offspring. These children usually isolate themselves from society and do not interact with anyone and spend most of their time alone and therefore parents ' role is important in teaching them initially. On the other hand, schools are a place where students develop societal skills after interacting with other students and teachers. School is a place where children from different sections of our society come and study together. Interacting with each other teaches them many social values like, friendship, caring, sharing, empathy towards others etc.. these attributes which they nourish in school are carried by them throughout their life and help build a better society for the future. In conclusion, I would say the parent's role is imperative as they are the first person with whom children interact and learn, but the role of the school is more important as they provide an environment where they not only learn new and complex behaviour but also implement that behaviour.