Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Plastic currencies have become one of the most prevalent means of payment in the modern world. In this essay, I will explore both the benefits and drawbacks they brought to society. On the one hand, paying by plastic money replacements is far more convenient than by traditional ways. There is no need for individuals to carry a large amount of cash when they use credit cards to make purchases in physical stores. In addition, many banks offer tools, such as financial apps, that allow users to track their spending with credit and debit cards, which helps users to manage their budgets more efficiently compared to cash. On the other hand, the substitution of plastic cards causes various crimes. First of all, some paying platforms lack capital to pay for cybersecurity services. As a result, experienced hackers are able to access consumers’ personal information and passwords for their cards easily. Secondly, its function of paying without carrying cash provides a better way for illegal transactions like drug dealings to avoid being noticed in public. In conclusion, plastic money replacements enhance convenience and efficiency for people, while fostering different types of crimes that do not exist before.