Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, people learn foreign language for travel or with a working purpose, but, there are other motivations such as culture and history, that are a revelant reasons for learning a new language. In my opinion, people should take them into account in order to learn a foreign language. On one hand, a lot of people believe that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or work in a different country. Indeed, companies publish their work offers online and many people can get access to them and apply. For instance, in software development, there a many companies, such as Google, Facebook or Amazon, that offer remote working but it requires to speak English. Because of that, many people learns English with the purpose of a better job. On the other hand, there are other motivations to learn a new language, for instance, people could feel curious and interested in a foreign culture. So, with the Internet, people connect with others to practice their new language but also to know more about a different culture, their history and traditions. In my opinion, being able to connect, share experiencies and customs it is also an important motivation for many people, even so they are not interested in traveling. For instance, many young people are interested in Asia because of its musical groups, series and movies. Even though, they do not have enough money to travel or do not want to work there, they are learning languages such as Japanese. In conclusion, people can learn a new language only with the purpose of getting more opportunities in their job, like a better salary, or just because they want to visit a new country. But, people should learn a foreign language because they want to learn more about the differences between each country and their customs.