The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth of overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

There has been a rise of obese people in recent years, which caused significant declines in people ’s health. In this essay I will discuss reasons for such a trend, as well as some suggestions for solving this problem. The rise in obesity rates can be attributed to a variety of interrelated causes. Firstly, the availability and consumption of fast and high-calorie food have risen significantly. Nowadays unhealthy food like burgers, snacks, sweets are more accessible and cheaper than healthy and nutritious products. At present, it is quicker and convenient for people to buy fast food as it suits most of the time tables and there are many additives that make the food taste perfect. However, such a lifestyle leads to a sharp increase in weight, kidney and stomach problems. Secondly, marketing and aggressive advertising can also be the cause of weight gain, especially for children and people who lead sedentary lifestyles. Bright and alluring advertisements for fast food, high-calorie desserts and other unhealthy products can create strong detrimental preferences or eating habits. Moreover, most of these meals and products consist of unhealthy additives and flavor enhancers, which can provoke addiction and change taste preferences. There are some solutions to address the problem. To begin with, public health initiatives can contribute to increasing knowledge about healthy eating practices, and the importance of regular physical activity. Schools, work places, and universities should somehow implement nutritious education into the curricula or in the work process and make it interesting. Afterwards, the government must implement initiatives aimed to regulate advertising activities in relation to food products and create stricter rules on the inspection and composition of products.They can also contribute to the development and promotion of healthier eating products. To conclude, by making common efforts of people, government, companies and society as a whole, it is possible to improve the quality of food and reduce the obesity rating by addressing societal norms and promoting healthy lifestyles.