Some people believe that it is better to live and work in a vertical city with multiple tall buildings, as compared to a horizontal city with fewer tall buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give your explanation using some relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays, there is growing culture among people to live and work in skyscrapers. This trend has sparked a debate among commoners that whether it is beneficial to reside and work in tall buildings or we must prefer horizontal city. Therefore, this essay will discuss both aspects followed by my viewpoint. To begin with, those who favour vertical city opine that multi-story buildings is the best option to accommodate a large number of people in a limited space. In fact, it is a widely known fact that allmajor cities around the globe are facing scarcity of land. For example, Mumbai and Bangalore are one of the most crowded cities in India with a maximum number of skyscraper to accommodate a large population. Thus, it is preferable to utilise vertical buliding for professional or personal chores. On the other hand, those who favour horizontal cities assert that this age-old city planning offers more space and a quiet surroundings. Indeed, generally, we find ample open spaces in places with less number of skyscrapers. Which offers peaceful and quiet surroundings. Moreover, it allows residents to live near to the mother nature. To illustrate, in India, Himachal Pradesh follows the old city planning model, which attracts people from the metropolitan cities. Hence, horizontal cities are favourable for those who want to live in peace and close to natural surroundings. In my viewpoint, it is a matter of personal choice. As some of us like vertical tall buildings and others prefer horizontal cities.