Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives, so it is a waste of time to read news in the newspaper and watch news programs on television . To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the news from newspapers or television is useless, they think it is a waste of time and has no relation to them. I personally disagree with this statement because the news instead can teach us a lot of lessons and some opportunities in the future. Firstly, people can learn from past events that were aired on television. For example, the news about =traffic accidents. People can study the cause of the accidents and try to prevent them for their own future. This means the news has similar purpose as a research paper which is giving some knowledge to the people. Secondly, the newspaper usually publishes some important events that happen in the future. It will inform people to attend the events or at least know about them. For instance, there are a lot of job opportunities posted in the newspaper. People who are currently looking for a new job can find them in the newspaper. This means that it can give us both information from the past and to the future. In summary, there are some reasons why people should keep reading or watching the news such as to expand their knowledge and predict the future. I believe the news is still relevant to the people's conditions nowadays.