Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult such as Sahara desert or Antarctica what are the benefits and the disadvantages of going there.

Tourism is something that has always created interest in the public, however, nowadays the tourism scene has changed a bit, people are looking to travel to exotic places such as Sahara desert or Antarctica. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks to explore remote places. Looking firstly at the positivities, the chance of exploring a new place is wonderful. Allowing yourself to travel somewhere unsual creates opportunities to explore new realities and to open the mind. Being able to experience how people can survive in challenging temperatures and environments can boost the feeling of resilience. Furthermore, it also impacts in self-awareness. Traveling to remote areas is a journey of learning about yourself, delving in a new place allows to get out of the comfort zone, such as trying different seasonings/food, and even sometimes learning a new language. Nonetheless, the main disadvantagens disadvantage of this particular tourism is the language and cultural barrier. The traveller needs to be very cautious in making sure that some research was made prior the trip, such as country dress-code and how to behave properly. If you are in a Islamic community and you are a woman, there are certain rules that it needs to be follow, otherwise, it might results in a dangerous situation. In addition, the lack of resouces and technology can also affect the language barrier, there are some locations that the internet signal is limited, so the use of google translator can be restricted. In conclusion, despite of the benefits of increasing self-awareness and the journey to self-discovery, the drawbacks needs to be put into consideration, learning about culture rules to do not put yourself in a bad position.