In some countries criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch. Do the advantages of allowing this overweigh the disadvantages?

Criminal case's are watched by the population in some regions. While it may lead to issues such as mental health problems on prisoners, seeing these criminals on the TV may prevent more disasters. So, I believe that advantages of this situation overweigths the drawbacks. On the one hand, in many countries people are not afraid to commit crimes because of their belief that they will not be punished. By showing this kind of trials helps to really make them understand the consequences of their actions. For instance, in the case of turkey where most crimes are not even considered a problem leads to more problemed behaviors. If the guilty ones and thier punishment can be seen by the public, it is more likely for people to feel scared to commit bad mannered actions. On the other hand, to what extend this is ethical, is arguable. The ones who are guilty will suffer in the prisons. Is it really necessary that they will be all watched by the society?. This will cause long time damage to their mental health. For instance, a prisoner who robbed a bank due to the reason of poverty got their lesson by staying in a closed place for several years. By showing their faces and reason of crime puclicly will cause them nothing but harm. In conclusion, even though publicly watching crimes has drawbacks according to me it comes with great benefits.