Some believe that history has little to teach us about today while others think that the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of history education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that school curricula have to contain history, while others argue otherwise. I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion. On the one hand, those who claim that history doesn’t give benefits do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the past is just the past, while the present is high-technology society. This means that history is not relative today. For instance, recent society problem is about to technology advancement such as individual privacy and addiction of smartphone. However, in the past, these problems didn’t exist. Given these points, some people hold the view that history has little to teach us about today. On the other hand, in my opinion, students need to study history. Because the past repeats and people don’t want to same mistakes. Therefore, when people same situation, they can overcome, as learn study. Another the most compelling reason is that a variety of customs in community describes our history. Moreover, history makes their own culture. In other words, people need to understand their history for understanding our society. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive. In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I firmly agree the view that school curricula have to contain history.