Some people think that university students should study wthatever they like. Others blieve that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that university students around the world should study whatever they like, while others argue that they should only study relevant topics for the future. To begin with, we are living in a time of change, a time where technology and science play a crucial role in our society. Since the year 2000, when Steve Jobs introduced its Iphone to the world, the technology sector has skyrocketed, giving endless opportunities and increasing the sector value to over 25 billion dollars. Nonetheless, young people are not keeping up with science and technology degrees, both of which are facing a significant decrease of youngsters, going from 25% of all students in 2019 to only 6% by the end of 2024. Consequently this could lead to shortage of developers and researchers in these areas, which are crucial for development and growth. On the other hand, students argue that they would only study subjects that they like, mentioning that we should not keep aside other careers, such as arts, gastronomy or even laws. In addition, while technology can help with everyday tasks on this fields, human intervention and analysis is required. In conclusion, while the science and technology sector rose dramatically, we should still have in mind other fields, students should be able to make a choice driven by passion.