In many parts of the world, women study science and technology but do not work in these fields. What are the problems women face? What solutions can be taken to encourage women to work in science and technology?

Recently, many females around the world study science and technology, however, they do not pursue their careers in such fields. This unfortunate fact is due to social stereotype and gender discrimination at workplace. Nevertheless, this problem could be solved by embracing gender equality and empowering women who work in the fields of science and technology. One primary challenge that women who study science and technology is the social stereotype, as girl from an early age are always discouraged from pursuing careers in these fields as they are considered in capable of excelling in technical fields. Moreover, the lack of flexible work arrangement disproportionately impacts women who are expected to balance between domestic and professional responsibilities. In addition to this, many workplaces in the fields of technology and science remain male dominated leading to gender bias, fewer opportunities for career development and feeling of isolation among women. In order to overcome such challenge, government should encourage female students in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics). For example, by highlighting successful female scientist which shall encourage young girls to take them as their role models. Additionally, workplaces must establish policies promoting gender equality by ensuring fair recruitment and promotion process. Also, mentorships programs where female students could connect with professional experienced women in these fields can provide guidance and support to them fostering self-confidence and career development. In conclusion, women are as important as in the fields of technology and science, however, social strains and unflexible work arrangement demotivate many females from continuing in these sectors. Accordingly, governments should raise the awareness of young females and encourage them to become leaders in these filed. In the meantime, private sector should embrace gender equality, stand against discrimination at work place and offer flexible work environment for women.