Some people say the fashion industry is bad for the environment, as it encourages consumers to buy new clothes all the time. Do you agree or disagree? Keywords: fashion; environment Type: Agree & Disagree

According to some, industry of fashion affect the environment negatively and it leads to rise in sales due to the reason of people wanting brand new clothes. I firmly agree with this statement. I believe that the need for following the trends lead to over-consumption of clothes and in the production process lots of waste occurs. To even produce a piece of clothing, lots of effort and material goes into it. Most of the time, factories use cheap metariels such as nylon to produce more clothes in a shorter amount of time. To elaborate, these are the materiels that do not dissolve in the nature for years. For instance, a clothing company not only harm humanity with its child workers but also throw their trash such as plastic, unnecessary waste, etc., harming the environment beyond our imagination. In addition, people feel the need to buy new clothing just because they feel like they need to follow the trends and wear what is popular. This lead to over-consumption. Consequently, companies manufacture more products. In other words, factories are working more than ever and the side effects of this situation cannot be underestimated. For example, a plant that run all day releases tons of toxic chemicals and carbon emissions into the atmosphere. Thus, causing problems like air pollution. In conclusion, fashion industry is not beneficial for the environment. Companies harm the environment just to earn more money. According to me, people should decrease the amount of clothes they buy to say an end to this.