Some people think adults should learn practical skills by themselves, while others believe that learning from a teacher in a classroom is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently, one can learn a skill independently or by attending courses where such skills are being taught. There are some who think that grown ups should learn hand skills on their own while others feel there is a need for classroom knowledge. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain why I feel the classroom means of learning is more efficient. There are two main reasons why self learning is good. The most essential one is that it fosters dedication. This is because there is no external person to monitor one's progress; hence, individuals who choose this method are forced to conciousely practice regularly. Moreover, they might be able to develop new ways of performing such tasks which could be better tailored to them than the traditional techniques. For example, those who learn how to cook by themselves have to ensure they prepare a dish regularly so that they can be perfect, also, they tend to discover new recipies that suit them. Nevertheless, there are advantages to classroom learning. The main one is that it can help reduce accidents. The presence of a supervisor in the classroom can prevent harmful mistakes. Furthermore, the classroom saves time by reducing the try an error method. For instance, tailors who enroll into programmes learn faster than others who just get a sowing machine and try to sow. In addition they also learn about protective gears needed to minimize finger injuries when mending clothes. In conclusion, I feel that both schools of thought have reasonable points, however, I think that attending courses to learn a skill is better than trying to acquire it without help, as I feel that the ability to learn faster and without accidents outshines dedication and the new discoveries that might occur.