In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, big cities are more facilitated and they are offering hundreds of job opportunities. So it is not suprising that rural people tend to move to these megacities, seeking a better life condition. As a result, the population in the countryside is decreasing and I think it is a negative development. In this essay, I will propose my opinion and try to draw a conclusion. The immigration of the suburban population to the large cities, may cause some important issues as each city has a certain capacity. Some problems like traffic congestion and air polution will be magnifyed when the number of citizens is increased. As a result, this can lead to a huge dissatisfaction for the ones that were previously living there. The other negative point is a decrease in agriculture products. Most of these rural people, used to be farmers and provide fruits and vegetables for the cities. As they are moving to the cities, there would be a downturn in the production rate and it can cause a significant rise in the price of farm goods which is a bad circumstance in the country’s economy. On the other hand, there is always a need for service jobs in the cities as the educated citizens refuse to do them. Although working as a restaurant waitress or a house servant do not need an experienced worker, they are well-paid. On this condition, these rural employees can be a good choice to fill the demand. However, this is not a great deal as students are mostly looking for a part time job and they can join these positions. To sum up, cities are facing a huge increase in their population due to their good condition and services. In my view, this can have a serious effect on the air quality and also a rise in the price of organic products.