Some people believe that reading books are better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A few individuals think that reading books is more useful and better than spending time in front of the screens and watching television or playing video games for teenagers. This essay will discuss what is more valuable and essentially,it will be finished by my own perspective. Firstly, reading books develops critical thinking and comprehension skills in children.So when they read, they engage actively with the text, imagining characters and scenarios, and interpreting meanings. For example, a research conducted by Cambridge University has shown that 57% of humans prefer reading, because they can come up with your own world and disconnect from reality for a couple of minutes. On the other hand, it is necessary to acknowledge that television and video games can provide educational value. That’s to say,many educational programs are designed to teach children about various subjects, including science, history, and even social skills. For instance, online schools such as,, Foxford,, can help students in their studies, despite the fact that they will have to spend time at the computer. In conclusion, while there are advantages to watching television and playing video games, I believe that reading books remains a more beneficial activity for children overall.There are skills such as imagination,creativity, critical thinking in a way that social media often cannot replace.