Today,the high sakes of popular consumers goods reflects the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do u agree or disagree

It is argued that advertising is responsible for the overconsumption that our society is witnessing. This essay disagrees completely with this statement because citizens consume what they need and what they can afford regardless advertising and also because this phenomenon appeared before the ever-increase in people's expenditures. It is conspicuous that the public consume regarding its needs and its budget and not because he is simply influenced by daily announcements. Indeed, it would be logical to claim that people consume a wide range of commodities because they are certainly in need of it. Furthermore, our community is noticing the fact that there is a larger choice in several items such as clothes and food, rather than some decades ago. In this regard, it would be insane to claim that advertising is the engine of this overconsumption. A recent study published in the famous newspaper "The Guardian", showcased, according to a reliable survey, that more than 70% of American citizens buy regarding their needs and not because they are attracted by advertisements related to products. It is also crystal clear that even if the art of advertising has been set up many decades ago, there is a continuously dramatic surge in the worldwide consumption. It would be fair to recognize that the advertisement may foster people to buy more. However, the public has been exposed to the same advertising methods since several years ago and he is still enhancing his expenditures. In fact, our habits and needs evolved regardless this phenomenon. For instance, the number of smokers is steadily increasing despite the fact that social media and means of communication encourage those to abandon smoking. In conclusion, the power of advertising is real, but can't justify by its own the high sakes of popular consumers goods. This is because people acquire commodites depending on their necessities and also because this phenomenon has been established before the overconsumption we are noticing.