Consumer behavior has changed considerably in recent years due to technology. In what ways does affect consumer activities such as shopping? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is an undeniable fact that e-commerce has been significantly developed thanks to advanced technology. While there are a lot of arguments about the pros and cons of consumer activities affected by tech, I firmly believe that disadvantages to consumer behavior. Nowadays, it is common that people prefer to shop online instead of going at a store. It is much easier for consumers to compare products and check other’s reviews than before. Moreover, products vary from fresh vegetables to house appliances. For instance, in Korea, there is an online service which is called ‘Rocket Delivery ’ meaning that they can receive stuff within 12 hours right after they put an order, just as fast as rocket. Nevertheless, I do not think this development in shopping only carries a bright side. Firstly, it is inevitable to avoid producing tons of packaging waste, such as boxes, tapes or air caps. Even though a lot of e-commerce companies are struggling to deal with these issues, not all the materials for packaging is eco-friendly. Secondly, because of the high competition in delivery services, the delivery people ’s workload is getting too heavy. For example, there was an incident that one delivery man passed out during the peak season to reduce the transit time. To meet the service quality of demanding customers, a lot of delivery people are under pressure. To sum up, it is true that people take advantage of excellent online service in terms of shopping. However, there are serious problems such as the excessive packing and the heavy workload of delivery people.