Traditional medicines, such as herbal remedies and acupuncture, are very popular in some countries. Those who practice traditional medicines claim that it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

In recent decades, the use of alternative medicines has exponentially increase to the point that its practitioners proclaim that it is even more effective than conventional medicines. Personally, I am vehemently opposed to this statement. This essay will elaborate the reasons and give some examples to demonstrate point and prove argument. Firstly, none of these empirical treatments have a scientific proof of they effectiveness, hence they can be considered to have a placebo effect more than actually curing any illness. Even more some of this practices were proven to be detrimental for specific patients. A cleare example of this was the case of the cotton tea believed by Peruvians to help with nerve and pain specially recomente for pregnant women because supposedly it helped with labour pain. Upon an intense analysis in a laboratory was proven that this tea actually induced premature labour. Secondly, pharmaceutical drugs are exhaustively studied and refined to minimise side effects and have a correct usage dose. This is not done with natural medicines, for this reason the chances to overdose from the chemical compound are higher. For instance a Brasilian tribe traditionally consumed amapola flowers to tread their sick. They all show signs of addiction. Later it was found that amapola have significant content of morfina, highly addictive opioid drug. In conclusion, traditional medicine cannot be considered superior to modern medicine products. Because they lack scientific evidence and have to be chemically analysed. Therefore, there is too little proven knowledge on them which contrasts with their contrapart.