All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. What is the reason for this rise in obesity and how could it be tackled ?

Obesity is a growing problem in modern societies, it is important to understand how this problem is affecting us, according to WHS, USA in one of the countries with more than a million of people with this condition. During this essay it will show the reasons to the rise and how this can be tackled. Firstly, big cities are having the same way to work, people don’t have enough time to make their own food, so, for that reason they are forced to eat out of home and in that moment people prefer inexpensive fast food options due to an aggressive marketing, but, in the publicity is never mentioned that the main components are high-calorie, high sugar and unhealthy fats. For example, in cities the quantity of restaurants that offers hamburgers, hot dog or pizza are increasing. Secondly, the lack of physical activity due to long working hours are making that modern societies people tend to lead sedentary lifestyles and this behavior is being copied by children because of the increased reliance on technology. For instance, those days children prefer to stay at home in front of going out to play with friends. To conclude, to tackle obesity is necessary that governments implement policies to increase food labeling, regulate food advertising and encourage through marketing the consumption of healthier food and physical activity. Like in Bogota, every weekend are many events to promote exercise, also, for a recent law all the processed foods are labelled, and the marketing was regulated especially for children.