Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Living in the big cities can be quiet challenging to stay fit and healthy. Many believe that it has a negative impact on urban citizens health. I agree that the health services and facilities in urban centers are more advance and would give more benefits to its inhabitants. On the other hand, I believe that city life also detrimental effect on peoples health. I believe that some physical and mental problems would likely be the result of city life. For instance the constant noise from the construction site and transportation system would result to noise pollution, that might result to insomia and sleep disturbances. Water floods carrying bacteria and viruses from clogged drainages containing leptospirosis and might contaminate the water system for consumption. Second, fast foods and other unhealthy food products are widely available in the city as most of the people in the urban have no time to cook and always in a hurry. For example, consuming unhealthy products for a longer time may lead to diabetes and hypertension. An article published in the Philippines stating the increase number of dialysis patient due to poor eating habit, unlike in rural areas residents can cook food and put less ingredients such as salts, usually the main reason for hypertension. To sum up, although living in the cities offers numerous benefits such as easy access to health facilities and recreation centers to improve physical well being and mental health. We cannot also overlooked the negative effect it has for people living in it.