In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Although many university students like to live with their family in their hometown while they study, others prefer to travel to a different city to attend university. Despite of obvious benefits of moving away from family such as greater independence, there are also a significant number of disadvantages such as lack of support and care. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweighs the advantages by a large margin. Living without family in a different town would allow students to experience greater freedom. They will learn to live their own life and to make responsible decisions. This will help them to gain maturity as they learn to handle different circumstances with their own intelligence. Additionally, they can also taste the essence of a different culture and environment, and learn to modify their lifestyles accordingly to blend with the native people. For example, a recent article in the 'Live your Life' magazine claimed that university students living independently were at least 60% more successful to adapt to their career at a different city than students living with their family. Moreover, living alone means that there will be less distractions from young or newborn family members, and thus the student can better focus on their academics. On the other hand, living independently has numerous notable disadvantages. Family members often provide significant care, and moving away from them results in much less support being available. As a consequence, students are faced with additional responsibilities such as cleaning their house, shopping for groceries and preparing their own meal along with all the other academic duties. Furthermore, close family ties are necessary for mental stability and happiness, and a lack of this results in a feeling of homesickness and mood swings that has a negative impact on the student's performance. In worst case scenarios, if there is an accident, it becomes extremely difficult for a student to cope up without the presence of their family members. For instance, a research carried out by the National University's Bureau of Statistics revealed that one out of ten students living alone in a new city, have to drop out and return to their family due to serious injury from road accidents. In conclusion, even though living independently during studying in university may lead to an increased capability of adapting to career requirements, homesickness, mental instability and threats of undesirable accidents make it more advantageous to stay with family as they can provide the student with an umbrella of support and care whenever necessary.