Some people argue that parents should have a strong influence on their children’s choice of friends and life partners. Others believe that young people should make these decisions independently. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

there are widely differing views about wether parents should have impact on their child's decisions for choosing friends and partners or the children have to make that choice on their own.There are compelling arguments on both sides of this topic which will be outlined in detail, followed by my own point of view over the statement. On the one hand, evident is the fact that, children learn most of their behavior through osmosis and some of them may spend a vast amount of their time with their partners and peers rather than their parents. Hence, bad partner and friend can have adverse effects on child's personality. moreover, some researches have shown that frontal lobe is the main part of decision making in human body and it is not fully developed until adolescents. So, until that time children can be considered naive and inexperienced individuals. Therefore, for preventing unfavorable outcomes, parents can play a pivotal role for their offsprings in crucial circumstances such as choosing friends and partners due to their more social experiences and fully developed brains. On the other hand, independency is one of the essential factors to improve children for their upward mobilities. Similarly, if the child always rely on parents, they may face a lot of problems in their future because they can't address their issue on their own. In addition, children want to choose a friend or partner who suits with their mindset, point of interest, and someone who have a lot in common. Hence, parents can not understand these mentioned aspects because of generation gap between them and their kids. For instance, a kid's father used to play soccer for his leisure activity but his child's mindset computer games are just the only enjoyable activity. To conclude, there are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy; on balance, however it is my solid conviction that just in essential circumstances, which may have unfavorable results, influencing children's choice for partner and friend by their parents is crucial due to child's inexperienced perspective of life. And parents should consider teaching independency in their child's upbringing until they can paddle their own canoe.