In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In certain nations, students who just graduated from high school are adviced to take a gap year to travel or work. This essay will elaborate on the merits and demerits to this decision. There are two main benefits of taking a gap year to work or explore places before enrolling into university. The main one is that it allows students to gain pivotal experience. During their internship, they are opportuned to experience certain occurrences which will make them understand certain courses in the university better. For instance, computer science majors who worked at a cyber cafe before starting out in university would have been opportuned to opperate certain computer softwares before coming to school. When these applications are thought again, they would understand it faster. Furthermore, they get to network with others outside their field. By travling to other cities, high-school graduate get to make friends with individuals who might not be in the same professional niche as them. These connections might be beneficial to them in the future. Notwithstanding, there are two major setbacks to this resolution. First of all, it can be demanding in terms of money. Young adults who are not financially boyant might find travling to places of intrest expensive; hence, making them bitter and stressed out. To illustrate, in Nigeria, many high-school graduates do not travel as it might cost them to spend from their univerity savings. In addition, it can be a waste of time. This is because there are certain professions that can not be done without university knowledge; hence, having young people work in these fields can be unfruitful as they are not eqquipped with the proper skills. In conclusion, both schools of thought have their merits such that taking a year to travel can help gain experience and connections, it can also be a money pit and a waste of time.