Nowadays, more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

Over the course of the last decades, finding a suitable job has become increasingly challenging. Many older job seekers have to compete with younger candidates for the same position, which can induce several problems such as large-scale unemployment and workplace conflicts for both individuals and societies. Therefore, some measures should be taken to address these issues effectively. Admittedly, this keen competition between the experienced and the young candidates creates a wide range of problems. First of all, the majority of the employers tend to recruit the young candidates because of their broad technological skills as well as their adaptability, which was supported in a recent in Germany that more than 83% of employers place a premium on young adults in the job market. Hence, the older people may struggle to find a decent job to cover their initial expenses which may lead to serious financial issues. Moreover, due to this trend the rate of unemployment among older job seekers has soared in numerous countries. In addressing such issues, the joint effort of both individuals and governments is required. On one hand, people should keep themselves updated by acquiring more knowledge through attending various courses such as computing or marketing online. On the other hand, governments can encourage the employers to provide more job opportunities for older candidates by offering to pay subsidies to those who take on them. In summary, the age discrimination in hiring process brings about some challenges for older candidates that should be tackled by the sincere effort of the states and the job seekers.