With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the course of the last decades, the internet has become an integral part of our daily lives. Many people follow the news through social media which has brought about numerous benefits such as fast and easy access to loads of information, as well as a few negative effects. On the one hand, getting news from platforms like twitter and Facebook, have a diverse array of advantages. Firstly, with the advent of the internet the news spreads rapidly, breaking geographical barriers. In other words, people from various part of the world can become aware of a piece of news simultaneously, whether they live in Africa or in China. Secondly, since people have the opportunity to express their feelings on a topic and can be more engaged, pursuing the current affairs via social media is more fulfilling for them. As a tangible example, a recent research at the Harvard University discovered that more than 75% of young individuals prefer to leave a comment under any interesting post. On the other hand, like every other source of information, social media has some drawbacks, too. Not all the news on these platforms is reliable and trustworthy, even a great deal of them can be false or fake news. Therefore, people can be misguided and misinformed easily. For instance, a few weeks ago there was a fire in California that was exaggerated on social media in a way that everyone became extremely worried but the government broadcasted the real videos of that city with no fire. In conclusion, while there are both positive and negative effects in following news from social media, I highly believe that its advantages such as speed and accessibility far outweigh the disadvantages.