In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages

In the globalisation era, it is easier for people to learn about other foreign cultures. People have opportunities to explore other traditions and cultures outside their regions. As a result, young people have more interest in foreign foods than local foods. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of foreign foods preferences in the community. The possibility of having goods from other countries increases the trade activities among two or more countries. People can import food commodities which are produced in other regions. At the same time, local commodities can also be exported. Therefore, with this trade, both regions could focus on producing goods that need lower cost for them. It is called specialisation, which can lead to efficiency. For example, Country A has a lower cost to produce apples. On the other side, Country B is more efficient in producing corn. Then, A and B could focus on growing apples and corn, respectively. After that, both countries can trade their commodities. Since each of them has a lower cost to produce, the price of goods will be cheaper. Not only on the economic side, but the trend will also increase the diversity of culture in the community, which can enhance their knowledge. However, this trend does not only have positive impacts but also negative impacts. Because more people in the community tend to prefer more foreign food, local foods can be vulnerable. As a result, the community loses its own culture. For example, in Indonesia, most of the younger generations do not know how to make their own traditional foods. Furthermore, the trend will impact the local businesses. Since the demand for local goods decreases, the local businesses will experience a loss. In conclusion, the preference of the younger generation for foods from other regions will bring positive and negative impacts on the economic and society. To preserve the local traditions, people need to learn their own culture. Moreover, the government shall implement policies related to trade in order to save the local businesses.