The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Ainazym

Science plays a crucial role in modern society, helping and influencing people in different ways. Some believe that the main aim of science must be to improve people ’s lives, while others think that scientific research should focus on gaining new discoveries in military technology. This essay agrees that the main purpose of science should be to help and promote individual’s lives. One reason why science should focus on human well-being is its impact on health and daily life. Medical research has led to new treatments, vaccines, and better healthcare, helping people live longer and healthier lives. For example, when there was a global pandemic which caused the death of millions of people, scientists and doctors from over the world were working hard to discover the treatment for the virus, then they got vaccine which helped citizens to prevent the disease. In addition, technology has made life easier through innovations in transport, communication, and energy. These developments show how science directly benefits society. On the other hand, some scientific research is not concentrated on promoting public wellbeing, instead, its major purpose is to gain power for the nation, which can ultimately harm the world. For instance, in 1945, there was terrible tragedy that killed millions of people in one day and changed the state of the whole world and science. It was the first time when a nuclear weapon was used which was invented by Oppenheimer, he was the great scientist who invented the most powerful and greatest weapon, but at the same time, he became the destroyer of worlds. In conclusion, the main goal of science should be to improve human lives because it leads to progress in medicine and technology. However, scientific research should be limited for negative goals and controlled by Ministry of Science.