‘It is the job of governments and companies to deal with the huge environmental problems which we face. Individuals on their own can do little or nothing’. What is your opinion about this statement?

A number of people advocate that the authorities and organizations should bear the entire responsibility for solving environmental issues. Moreover, individuals like citizens only can contribute little to improving the environment. I totally agree with the above statement and this essay will explain two major reasons. First and foremost, governments are empowered to regulate policy to promote an environmentally-friendly society, and monitor the citizens to follow the regulations. According to a survey conducted by Hong Kong University in 2017, 67% of residents living in Mong Kok are annoyed by the excessive artificial light. Light pollution influences people's daily routine and quality of living since night becomes day. In fact, the authorities play a vital role in considering the efficient and feasible way to deal with light pollution. Later on, the Hong Kong environment took action in controlling the brightness of advertisement boards in several districts such as Mong Kok, Causeway Bay and Tsim Sha Tsui. Companies have lowered the brightness of the advertisement board after 11 o'clock in the evening since the Hong Kong authority announced the new policy of street advertisement. It shows that governments and institutions tackle the problem collaboratively. It is true to say that people contribute to building up a better environment, but in fact, people only obey the law so the government are more influential than people do. In order to deal with abundant disposal, the government has imposed the disposal tax policy to the public in 2024. It is compulsory for residents to purchase recognized garbage bags when throwing rubbish. As a result, the number of trash produced will be reduced after implementing the legislation. Hopefully, this not only encourages pupils to recycle or find ways to reuse their waste, but also reinforces the factories to produce less manufacturing waste. Needless to say the environmental impacts of the landfill would be solved gradually if the government carries out effective rules. To conclude, governments and organizations are the leaders in figuring out the solution to solve diverse environmental problems in society. Meanwhile, public are governed to follow particular rules to foster a better living environment.