Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Numerous human beings globally consume social media platforms to maintain connection with other humans and reach the news. In my opinion, the benefits of consumption of social media applications outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, using WhatsApp, Instagram, Twitter and Telegram for communication with their relatives and friends in addition to garner new information throughout these programs. In other words, using these platforms has an obvious advantages of facilitating personal contact with their loves in comfortable, convenient and manageable way by using technology in order to attain the news. For instance, a study conducted at King Abdulaziz University in Jeddah on the proportion of population use of social media applications for communication purposes the results have shown 80% of men and women used these platforms. On the other hand, when some people depend on Twitter and WhatsApp as the main sources for getting information might lead to undesirable consequences. In other terms, the most disadvantageous point of using social media that includes some unreliable resources are which leads to serious complications especially if the data related to medical information. For example, there was a survey published at Makkah Newspaper on the percentage of getting inaccurate information by using social media the results showed 30% of information distributed in those programs was misleading data. Therefore, should the government establish a strict regulation and policies to decrease this phenomenon. In conclusion, today larger number of humankind use social media to obtain news and keep in touch with their relatives and friends It enhances communication between people with easy handle method which is considered a huge benefit. However, some social media platforms may provide misinformation for that must the government to tackle this issue. From my perspective, the benefits of using these programs outweigh the downsides.