Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is often said that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative effect on children, while others believe that children are encouraged to achieve by competition. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, an academically challenging atmosphere offers various benefits, as it significantly impacts children's success. These range from understanding a competitive environment, to developing a strong work ethic and valuable skills. For instance, many high school programs have sports teams that compete with other classmates. As a result, this has a positive impact on various aspects of their personality, such as understanding others, solving problems together and expanding their knowledge. Another argument is the emotional advocacy that children receive from others, which makes them feel ambitious and independent. By contrast, opponents of this view point out the negative effects on students. Examples can be seen in introverted pupils, many of them feel insecure due to poor ability to complete tasks or feeling inadequacy. This kind of emotional breakdown tends to make a child unable to express oneself. For example, a child who repeatedly scores lower on tests may start to believe they are not intelligent enough, causing them to withdraw from social interactions and academic activities. In conclusion, many children develop their skills through competition, while others require special attention to their personal growth. In my opinion, a rivalrous setting encourages children to accomplish, however, some children should be prevented from excessive pressure.