Some people belive that university education should only be offered to those who can pay for their own courses and the government should not be expected to fund higher education. to what extent do you agree?

It is argued that many individuals assert that university is only for those who can afford their own courses, and the government cannot fund higher education. However, I strongly disagree with this statement for several reasons. To begin with, education is a fundamental human right, therefore governments have to prioritize this and provide free higher education for everyone. Not only because it is one of the important rights, but also because it will help the government to discover talented people, which is beneficial for the community to develop. For instance, in North Africa, 70 per cent of people cannot be going to university due to the high cost of courses, which in turn leads to an increase in the rate of crime and ignorance inside the society. Moreover, the approach above it might be a burden on the government in terms of finances, however, i believe that when the country puts a amount of money and Investment into the education system like offering scholarships and grants for certain students it might encourage people to be passion and start their study journey. For example, studies show that student who are studying on their own money their performance at university lower than those who have scholarships.. To sum up, while it may be awkward for the government to handle this, in my opinion i think that can prevent students from continuing their studies or even starting because they have no money