In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

Earning money is vital to fulfill basic human needs, shelter, food, and water. Therefore people in the past started earning through one job. However, that has significantly changed now as more and more individuals are working on multiple roles. The reasons behind such a shift and its merits and demerits are further explained in the essay. The predominant reason behind this is inflation. The cost of everything is surging in at an unprecedented rate, due to that many people across the globe are not able to meet their daily needs from their primary source of income. Thus, being forced to generate a secondary income. A perfect example of this is the cost apple. The consumers were paying $1.50 in 2015 for one kilogram of apples with the minimum wage of $12.25. Now in 2025, the price went up by 200%, but the wage only increased by 35%. However, this has also shaped our society very well. By working on more than one job at the same time, people are more skilled than ever before. As currently seen in our society, employees who are engaged in several employement positions are better suitable to handle complex problems, and can handle deadlines in best possible way. On the other hand this could also have negative mental and physical health consequences. Because the person will never be able to rest enough as they will be always chasing something. To conclude, working at several jobs at once is common in this modern life due to raising prices of goods. However, despite the fact that it is making people more skilled, it is never worth to compromise health.