Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Minh

In the contemporary era, decreasing prisoners in local communities is a heated topic. Some individuals believe that extending penal sentences is the best way to prevent crime. In contrast, others think there are better alternative ways of reducing inmates and I am of the opinion that exiling them to remote areas or force to do social workers to punish the criminals. Two aforementioned views will be discussed thoroughly in the following graphs. On the one hand, there are some reasons why people believe that lengthening prison sentences is the best way to deter criminals. Firstly, this is due to the argument that law offenders will be arrested in longer penal sentences because they will be separated from the community and can not commit a crime again and will be rehabilitated then community will improve and become better if this law is enforced. Secondly, when the duration of sentence is increased, it can be a role model for other criminals and the public so it can deter more inmates in the community. On the other hand, I and others are of the opinion that the different and better way to prevent the increasing crime rate is exiling to faraway regions for forced labour. To begin, this is because I think this solution will be effective since social duties are more useful for the public instead of sitting still behind bars. In addition, this plan can help them as a way to reintegrate into society and rehabilitate them. In summary, although I concede that there is some merit in giving longer prison, I firmly believe that exiling law offenders to the remote regions is beneficial.