Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and insterets whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, compliance regulations are getting tighter and tighter due to the increasing awareness of privacy. Whether companies should ask job applicants their personal information has sparked much debate. I disagree that private information of applicants are useful for job screening. I will explain the reasons in the following essay. To begin with, work experience and academic history provide sufficient information for interviewers to assess the candidates. To be specific, marital status or hobbies should not possess any power to change the selection results. Sticking to the job-related questions also helps avoid the biased situation that managers purposely exclude married individuals or select the ones with same hobbies, and promote fair evaluation based on expertese. In addition to that, more people feel comfortable when providing only professional content. This is because some applicants may hesitate to write that they are separated. Therefore, personal information should not be included in the application format. I certainly admit that some personal information might enhance small talks during the interview. For example, I remember that I was asked about my children by a female interviewer and suprisingly found out we had children in the same school. Such conversation and coincidence, however, should not impact the selection result since they are not related to the profession. Consequently, there is no meaning of asking private life throughout the job application period. To sum up, although some personal information can help interviewers to get interests in the conversations, they are unnecessary facts for the selection process. It is crucial to exclude private questions from the application so that it can maintain fairness of the selection and protect candidates' privacies.