Some students prefer to take a gap year between highschool and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In current society, more and more contemporary students take a gap year before entering university. Whether taking the gap year to work or to travel is beneficial or not has sparked much debate. I will explore the multifaceted nature of this trend, emphasizing the belief that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One of the significant advantages of working of traveling before being enrolled in tertialy education is that adolescents can broaden their viewpoints and become open-minded. Having a creative and innovative minds enhances the discussions and research studies once they are back in school. For instance, the Ministry of Education in Japan published the report revealing that students with unique experience during the gap year perform better than those who proceeded straight from highschool. Furthermore, working for one year significantly reduces the financial burden of the students or their parents. The money earned during the break can help the students avoid taking student loans. For example, one Japanese article indicates that only just over 5% of students who worked for one year after graduating from highschool needed student loans for their campus life in 2020. However, alongside these advantages, taking a break from education has some downsides. One notable disadvantages is the risk of losing motivation for academic study. For example, some people decides to be employed or get married, and never go back to school. Hence, this cause the loss of talented people. To sum up, the frexibility in career brings both advantages and disadvantages. Despite the challenges of taking one year off, the advantagies advantage of gaining a broader view and reducing the financial burden of university are paramount. It is imperative to recognize that the benefits of traveling or working before the university enrollment extend far beyond the drawbacks.