question is In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Nowadays, a lot of athletes in professional sports are taking prohibited substances to improve their athletic performance. This problem is mainly due to the competitive spirit around professional sports and the increased social pressure these athletes are facing. To stop this kind of cheating, I recommend improving the culture surrounding these sports and having sport event a lot more often Countries invest massively in sports, and it is becoming more competitive by the day, urging athletes sometime to do whatever it takes to win or score better even if they had to cheat by doping. These athletes are often put in very difficult situations where they are being watched by thousands or millions of people who root for them. This will add a lot to their pressure and can play with their mental health to think that they will not be capable of winning on their own, therefore, they tend to relay on these unethical ways to increase their strength and improve their performance. Having someone in my family who used to play Olympic Weightlifting professionally made me realize that desperation can lead to doing harmful things to oneself like considering the idea of taking banned substances to improve performance. To mitigate this issue in my opinion, we should improve the culture around sports today by reevaluating the teaching methods and stop training by comparison and start making athletes believe in their abilities without the outside pressure. In addition, holding official sports events more often, for example, the Olympics, we can have it every year instead of every two years to lessen the pressure on the athletes and assure them that they have more opportunities and that they should not risk cheating. In conclusion, taking banned substances can be very desperate because of the competitive nature of professional sports and the huge social expectations that surround them. having a healthier training environment and more chances to compete can lead to decrease the use of such drugs.