The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Many people believe that the growth of fuel cost is the best solution for the world’s environmental problems. To a certain extent I agree with that strategy, but I also think that there are also more noticeable methods of environmental protection. On the one hand, I agree that increasing the cost of fuel is one of the best solutions to protect the environment. Because it could raise people’s awareness on the frequency and length of their travels so that they cut down on unnecessary trips. In addition, more sustainable mobility choices witness a surge in demand. Example, in America, hybrid vehicles and smaller transport have had a growing market since 2010. On the other hand, I believe that car emissions are not the sole cause because emissions from livestock farming and other industries are also significant contributors to pollution. In fact, livestock farming accounts for 64 percent of total methane emissions. Besides, providing individuals and businesses with an incentive to protect the environment would be more effective. Example, applying the lower tax on companies which leave less impact on their surroundings. In conclusion, despite increasing the cost of fuel is a good way, I believe that both pros and cons play equally important roles in that view.