Modern lifestyles are completely different from the way people lived in the past. Some people think that changes have been very positive, while others believe they have been negative. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

With the advancement of technology, people's lives significantly changed compared to the past. Some people state that the changes improved the world in a positive way, while others argue that the new way of living brought negative impacts. From my point of view, I believe that the shift in our lives improved many things. To begin with, the advent of technology such as the internet and computers contributed to establishing a convenient life and reducing old hastles castles in daily life. With the spread of the internet, employees can work online without commuting to the office. Students can also read E-books instead of real books in libraries. The statistics by Tokyo University revealed that more than 80% of people feel that their lives became more convenient with technology. Furthermore, the internet connected the people from all over the world. Nowadays, the international communication is easy, and people can talk with others abroad with just one click on the phone. Certainly, I admit that there are downsides to the comtemporary way of life. The notable disadvantage is an overall decline of physical interactions. Since messaging applications and chat services developed, there are only few occasions that require face-to-face conversations. Some people are concerned about this situation, by bringing up the point that less physical communication contributes to poor child development. For example, according to the survey conducted by the Ministry of Health in Japan, children under 10 years old with frequent exposure to the internet-related activities have lower problem-solving skills compared to those who do not. To sum up, the recent transitions in many sectors not only made people's life convenient, but also contributed to connecting the world. Despite the disadvantages including less face-to-face communication, I believe that benefits of the convenient life and the connected world is paramount. This is why I support the idea that the recent changes in humans' lives are positive.